Havoc Swims Jaded by David J. Schow


Havoc Swims Jaded? What the hell kind of title is that? What does it mean? It sounds vaguely . . . threatening, doesn’t it?

Havoc musters another lucky 13 short stories into the seventh collection of same by David J. Schow, who has won awards for this sort of behavior.

Havoc reigns as a bullet-filled criminal named Leadman goes totally aggro, and a prehistoric, Lagoony creature engages in mortal combat with his own evolved self.

Havoc ensues, as a time-displaced trio of friends find themselves lost in a trackless desert zone where there are no “signposts up ahead” at twilight. As your friendly TV remote control displays disturbing new functions. As changing your body image becomes as simple as donning a zip-up human suit.

Havoc cries forth the ghosts of the dogs of war as the Berlin Wall falls, in the novella-length “Dismantling Fortress Architecture.”

These and other dark tales of disturbance await the pleasure of your discomfiture. You will find, as Peter Straub said, that “here, all of Schow’s glittering weapons are sharper than ever before.”

But what does Havoc Swims Jaded mean, exactly?

You’ll have to open these pages to puzzle that one out for yourself. Sounds vaguely . . . threatening, doesn’t it?

Cimarron Street Books is pleased to bring you World Fantasy Award-winning author DAVID J. SCHOW's seventh short story collection, for the first time in paperback, featuring an updated afterword, an extensive essay on all-things Creature from the Black Lagoon, and now fully illustrated with the artwork of Woody Welch and Bernie Wrightson. Havoc Swims Jaded is the eleventh title in Cimarron Street’s massive reprint program of DAVID J. SCHOW's work. Collect ‘em all!

Full contents include:
• Front Matter
• Expanding Your Capabilities Using FRAME/SHIFT™ Mode
• The Five Sisters: A Fable
• Plot Twist
• Size Nothing
• Water Music
• Wake-Up Call
• Dismantling Fortress Architecture by David J. Schow & Craig Spector
• Scoop vs Leadman
• The Pyre and Others
• What Happened With Margaret
• Take-Out
• What Scares You
• Reflections in the Black Lagoon
• Afterword

Publication Date: May 9, 2022
Trade Paperback - 332 pages
ISBN-13: 979-8403866125
Dimensions: 6 x 0.84 x 9 inches